Get To Know The Candidate

Tom06-bw1A central message in my campaign has been,  “vote for the person, not the party label”.  Naturally, you would want to know more about me, so I will try to provide you with useful information.

I worked for AT&T from 1967 to 2002.  I was a Communications Tech for 8.5 years and then moved up to their Headquarters, where I worked in various administrative positions, being in computer and database support, during the last several years.  I became retired as part of a downsizing layoff that claimed my job.  Thanks to my Union contract and tenure, I was fully pension eligible.  (I know first hand, the value of Unions!)

I settled in Ambler in late 2007 with my wife Randi, after living 4.5 years in Asheville NC and before that, 25 years in Tinicum, upper Bucks county, PA.  We returned to this region to be closer to our family.  Since then, life events happened.  My parents passed away, and two of our married sons have had 3 children (a 4th is due in May!)

We really enjoy life in Ambler and like most folks, spending time with our family (especially the grandchildren!).  But as much as I love Ambler, I also notice things that have happened.  Things that stir me from my tranquility and make me ask questions.

One outstanding example of this is the Ambler Borough Tax millagerate.  Our first property tax bill arrived in January, 2008.

As in my work experience, I analyze, scrutinize and ask questions about what I see.  And what I saw, year after year, was quite remarkable.  The Ambler component of our taxes has risen over 92% in the 5 past years, while County and School rates have risen 17% and 1%, respectively.

Raising these issues and asking questions has some value.  But the real value would be to have someone on the Borough Council who injects himself into the decision making process before it becomes a reality.

As a Ward 3 Council member, my voice would become more than just one vote on a 9 member Council.  My voice would add to the debate that helps shape the votes of the entire Council.

I realize that at times people will just not agree with my point of view.  But isn’t it better to have a counterpoint in a discussion than not have any opposition to “group think”?

If you want an inquiring mind and an active voice on the Council, then look for me on the ballot.  And if you live in Wards 1 or 2, please encourage your Ward 3 friends and neighbors to look for my name on the ballot.

I will be found on the Green party candidate line.  Please look for me there.  Because sometimes, when you want something really better, you have to think outside of the two party mentality box.

I’m Tom Alba and I want to be on the Ambler Borough Council.

This entry was posted in Political. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment